current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

incubus concert II
2002-07-27 - 10:06 p.m.

Well, I met up with Kathy yesterday. And the feeling I got can be described as nothing else but relief. And then really really happiness. She charged at me and I charged at her and hre elbows were out and jabbed me between the shoulders and it kind of hurt, but I didn't care. I was so happy.

Well, let me tell you about the concert first, because I just want to a lot. I thought I had gotten great seats, having bought the tickets 4 weeks in advance. The ticket said, SS seat 30. Well, how was I to know that it was seat the seat 30 behind seats A, B, C, AA, BB, CC and so forth until SS? HOW? So, actually the band looked kind of small. Well, the local kids had all gotten advance notice to when exactly all the toickets got on sale, so they gobbled em up. But I didn't mind, after the show started.

30 Seconds to Mars opened (yes, that's right, not Phantom Planet... WHY?!) and announced they were gonna tour with incubus for the fall tour as well. :-o. Well, they were oookay. I have had their sticker on my lunchbox for ages and ages but I never even knew they were a band. They weren't anything spectacular but they weren't BAD. Everyone treated them pretty horribly, though, and that was dissapointing. They all just wanted incubus. COuldn't blame em, but...c'mon..

We high-fived some people walking thru the aisle in front of us.

So Incubus started and it was very very nice and happy. WHeeeee! I think they opened with Nice to Know You, but I'm not really sure. Wow. Brandon was wearing the same black or brown calf length pants he always does and a long sleveed black button down. It was pretty cold. Dirk was wearing a black cap , black t-shirt and black pants. Jose I couldn't see very well at all, but he was wearing a white t-shirt. Kilmore was wearing a black t-shirt. Er... er...Mike was wearing jeans and a blue long sleeved t-shirt. His hair was big again.

They were so awesome. It wasn't part of the tour, so they had the freedom to play whatever they wanted, I guess. They played uh..not in this order..

Make Yourself

Drive

Nice to Know you

Warning

Stellar

Circles (uh... i think..yeah)

Just A Phase

Blood On the Ground

Nowhere Fast

Privilege

A Certain Shade of Green **I was so happy when they played this song!! I don't know if I'm crazy or what, but it seems like they never play this song. I love it so much, though.**

Favorite Things*woot*

Clean (brandon put on his drum of course, and said, "Okay, now we'll have some Make Yourself drumming")

The Warmth

I Miss You

Vitamin?Yes Vitamin.

then the last two songs were

Are You In?

and

Pardon Me.

I could have totally messed up at some point or forgotten a couple of songs. Don't sue.

They didn't play an encore.

They did play a little weird one DJ version of Battlestar Scratchalactica, which was really neat. Everyone stood up on their chairs for half the concert, until the security hollered at us to get down. SOme assholes in front of us still stood up though, so we couldn't see a thing... but they sat down eventually after mr. neon security man went and scolded them. He was so funny.

Oh, god. It was a fantastic concert really. During Stellar, you could just look up at the sky and there were so many stars.... it was just a very incredible feeling. When Brandon let the crowd sing a bit during Pardon Me, hearing everyone sing was really neat.

At one point he said something like, "banana nut monkey, eerybody yell!" so everybody screamed... and then he laughed... and it was confusing.. but fun anyways.

He also climbed up on the speakers and sang. You should have seen the crowd... they freaked when he took off his shirt, revealing a black t-shirt, and again when he took that off. It was crazy. I think the whole band should take their shirts off, though. But maybe that would cause a dangerous riot. And er..... he raised his hand whenever he said "I would" during Nowhere fast.

I could see Dirk okay, kind of barely...there were a lot of um.. tall people in front of us. And I could see Mike okay. I could see Brandon sometimes best because he was always moving around....the others stay in place. But sometimes I'd look away for a second and I couldn't find him because of the heads. Mike threw his picks into the crowd after the show. I felt extremely jealous of everyone who was able to grab them. Arrrrr. Brandon had to pick up all his shirts. They had red drinking cups.

On a completely unrelated note, I got cable on the hotel TV last night and there was oxygen, the ladie's channel. (we stayed at a motel 8 because we didn't want to be driving until 3...paso robles is 3 hours away from san jose)There was this HILARIOUS show. This 80 year old woman was explaining in gross detail with a cross section penis picture how to put on different sorts of cock and ball rings. She then explainged the pros and cons. She even put one on her wrist because she thought it made a nice bracelet. Then she answered questions, like, how vegetarians have better tasting sperm than meat eaters. she said it's Sweet. I wouldn't know. Gawd. She was really old.

Yeah, ANYWAY.

I think I saw ONE thing being thrown up onstage, but there could have been a lot more, i was too far away to see. But I think the band was pretty good-natured and happy looking throughout, so i don't think it was like the sacramento concert. But they didn't do the encore! I was really terrified that they were unhappy at the crowd and had gotten whacked in the head or something. Ee! A ferris wheel was on the right of the stage. I taped parts of the show on my recorder. Mostly there's screaming and singing by the crowd, but when they played a science song, all the teenyboppers had no idea what was going on and shut up, so you can hear the band.

Also before the show, the DJ of a local radio station introduced this fat guy in a green t-shirt. let's call him Pete. Pete had eaten a tub of lard, mealworms and other grubs to see Incubus. I wish I had.I hate Pete. I wanted to give them my interview questions. But they'd probably gone straight home in their own cars and not a tour bus. They also brought up the queen and court of the fair. they looked like realy losers.

Hmm..... for one of the songs, Kilmore used a higher pitch for one of his records, and Dirk sounded a little off but it got straightened out after a bit. I think it was on purpose. Right?

And for another song, They all quieted down one at a time until, eventually, only Brandon was singing and Mike was playing a couple chords quietly. I always think it's really cool how they can just all change a note or do something like that in a beat and all adjust to it just fine.

That about sums up the show. It was very very very very very very great, and in some ways it was even better than the civic tour one. I can't wait for my next incubus concert, they put on a super show! I urge you all to go!

I have never seen so many people with bleached blonde hair in my entire life. I thought that was kind of pathetic. I think I saw about 16 people of color out of the 100s there. Kathy was kind of intimidated but I didn't mind, there was only one guy who seemed to notice that I didn't fit in. Some old fat one in a diner. What a jerk. He wouldn't stop staring at me. Otherwise, i thought it was pretty cool. So many hot guys! Aaaaaaaaahh....

The losers there, though. I saw this huge fat woman hugging this guy in a purple wifebeater and a lot of body hair, a moustache and an ugly hat. They were both chain smoking. The ugly guy totally looked like the type who went to strip clubs on weekends to satisfy his hugner for women not 300 lbs. They both looked kind of stoned. The white trash. ewww.

Me and Kathy went on that swing ride (very scary) and that ride that's like.... hmmm.... you know, the boat that swings you around in one big circle, and stops when you're upside down 60 ft from the ground? It was worse, though, because this one went faster but not fast enough that it was like a roller coaster. It was really horrifying. I looooved it. Kathy got sick on it and couldn't go on anything else. So we got popcorn and nachos to ease her stomach.

HAHAAHAHAAA! The diner we went to for dinner? Kathy and me ordered the shrimp linguine and my dad ordered the seafood linguini!!! It sucked so much! The only difference between the shrimp and seafood was that my dad got some pieces of artificial crab in his, a long with a plastic candy wrapper! Hahahahahaaaaa,, it sucked. and then my dad was stupid enough to go back the next day for breakfast! The service was slow, Kathy and me amused ourselves by launching sugar packets with our forks and spoons, and creating music by clanging our glasses , adjustic the tone by drinking or spitting in them.Turns out the fucking cook BROKE HIS THUMB right when we came in! Hahahahahahahahahahahaaa!

What a lovely diner it was!!!

We drove home the next day and i watched fight club with dad and kathy. It was my second time and I really really loved it. Love it. I love that movie. Edward Norton is one hot sexy mama. And when you hear the first description of it, you think fight club is just some shallow gpore movie, but it's a bit deeper than that. It's nihilist. Very Nietzcheism. Hahaha. I so smart.

Um, I'll write more in a bit, okay?

Boy, does Brandon's voice get sexy in concert when he does the quiet "will i ever get to where i'm going/ if i do will i know when i am there?" Because they don't do the morphing voice thingo, so he just kinda does the sexy voice. I liiiike the sexy voice.

yesterday - tomorrow