current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Education, not Elimination
2003-04-02 - 7:44 p.m.

None of my friends can come close to solving my problems, but at least they can make me forget about them a little.

I hate to say Dustin has changed a lot, and now he ceases to comfort me. Ever. In fact he kind of scares me.

Today, An Ho who won a gazillion dollars in prizes and also a trip to Chicago or Idaho or something because of his beta-particles science project, was acknowledged in class today. Ms. Kennett made a big deal about it, and asked him to explain it. "Well, basically," he said, "I put funneled beta-particles through a filter and if they jubishusly googelbaded then I had a figurative quasi-millem thang." Or something to that extent. And in any other class, a less advanced one, say, like World history, there would have been a great upraor of "WHAT?"s and "Hell Naw"s but this is English 2A, and this is Ms. Kennett's English 2A, where you never have to lecture kids for talking in class and you lecture them for not. And everyone was completely silent, and we all just exchanged meaningful looks with each other. And I thought it was pretty neat how we all communicate like that, like we send brainwaves or something.

WE're getting a 2 million dollar funding cut and I hate this, because maybe the cost of one fucking nuke we'd be able to revamp and improve our school to the point of not-being-completely-shittyiness to really-good 5 times over. It's really disgusting how we have no money for education, and it's disgusting to see how stupid a lot of kids are as a result of this, and it's disgusting to look at all these stupid kids and realize that we're the best high school in the district.

Seriously, like all the prizes from the beginning of the school year have been judged and all the winners (1st, 2nd and 3rd place) for all the contests have come form Piedmont.

It's pathetic and disgusting. And it's painful to sit in Holly and hear him pronounce oxymoron "ox-'i-meren" Ugh. I remember looking at Krystie, completely bewildered, and our jaws dropped and we giggled like mad, then I looked across the room at Davis, and he looked incredulous too, and we just looked at each other and gaped for a little while.

Daniel says that he "thinks" that I have not reached invisible status yet. If Greg hasn't said anything, well.. well I really dont' know what that means, actually.

yesterday - tomorrow