current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

to the aunt
2005-03-10 - 8:24 p.m.

Hi Tai Koo Ma

I tried emailing you a bunch of times but it always came back "MAILER DAEMON ERROR-NO SUCH ADDRESS." Did you change it? Was I emailing some weird address?

The site is interesting, but I'm not sure I really want to go into the career of journalism. I'm glad I completely overexposed myself to it this year, because it's made me realize how much I loathe it. Haha. I just don't find it fun anymore, it's more like a huge pain in the butt. I know I'm very good at it and I know I could probably shape a career out of it, but I'm left wondering: do I really want to do something that I'm not going to enjoy? On the other hand, if not journalism, what the hell will I do?

I really want to go to Europe this summer! Is it okay if I bring a friend if I visit? I don't really want to go by myself, but I really want to go. My father and I are not on speaking terms anymore and he has moved out of the house, so that is out of the question. Don't worry however, I'm doing just fine on my own, eating healthily etc. He leaves me substantial funds most of the time. My friends' parents seem loathe to let them go to traipsing all over Europe but if no-one agrees then maybe I'll take Greg to Malaysia; he likes that idea more because my dad has consented to pay the aifare for two and we wouldn't have to pay for a hotel. Him and me are doing just great, even with the 1.5 hour commute. I've grown to even like the drive when there isn't any traffic. Kathy is good too, she got into the college she wanted, Long Beach State, and hopefully will be my prom date.

I've begun the tumultuous process of waiting for colleges to reply to me and though I got accepted into San Francisco State months ago, that doesn't even seem to be an option now because I just got accepted into UC Santa Cruz today!! It's a good college and if I do decide to damn it all to hell and go into journalism it has a very prestigious journalism program. It's on my top 3 list of potential colleges which is pretty good! And right next to the beach, I might add. I'm still waiting for UC Davis(maybe!!) and UC Berkeley (not a chance in hell). At first I wanted to major in English and then get a master's at Northwestern or Columbia, but now I'm left wondering: what the hell am I going to do with a master's in English? Majoring in journalism is a waste of time because employers don't really care about a major; they are completely happy with a minor but really it depends on whether you have talent. I completely hate it but I'm considering getting a major in something "practical," only I keep failing whenever I take a math course. I ought to decide soon, but I'm terrified of making the wrong choice and being stuck in a suffocating career and ruining my entire life. Is this the most stressful time of youth or what??

Anyway, good to hear from you. hope this email actually works.

-Stephanie

yesterday - tomorrow