current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Much Better Local Bands
2002-08-09 - 12:27 a.m.

Let me tell you today was fun it was.

Kathy came over and we got all prepped to see THE KAMIKAZE BOMB SQUAD, FUCK YOU EMILIE AND YOUR FRIENDS! but u know we didn't read the thing properly and we went to the show and the show is actually tomorrow which is my dad's birthday and not today, but the show wound up being loads and loads of fun anyway. we made ass signs. going WHOSE ASS IS THIS? we did.

uh, yeah, we went and i was so upset and considered leaving when i found out we'd come the wrong day, but i'm glad i stayed. we sat around a bit and then waited for the first band to come up, and i really thought they were raggedy andy but they weren't, they were MLF. i do not know what MLF stands for but i got their button anyway. I GOT 7 FREE THINGS TONIGHT by simply being cool.

Yes, it's true! once i got over my initial awkwardness i think I proceeded to become the COOOOLEST person there! I exaggerate not! I, in my honest opinion, think iwas the coolest person that night. I was in the... SPOTLIGHT. i was so cool. i wasn't as cool as any of the band members, or the bartender, but after thoes people, i was the coolest.

well, first came MLF anyway.... and they were really good@ I really liked them. i thought they were really good. Goood. And, and the guitarist on the right was really hot, and he was strumming so fast his hand was a blur. he had striped socks and shoes. Kathy liked the one on the left, because he loked really out of it. Like they'd all this seig heil thing, and he was always a second late and looked like he was just realizing that he was supposed to be doing something. also at one point, this little gay kid with a striped shirt kept whacking him on the head with a blow up beach ball, so he finally got major big time pissed and leaped on the little motherfucker, cussing and... oh, ho, ho, it was funny. well, okay yeah. The middle one was a really good singer, but once he got offstage, i don't know. Maybe he was having a bad day or something, but it really appeared like he was going for the tortured artist lok. No smiles... depression... grooooan.

His girlfriend had pigtails and a little slut schoolgirl skirt.... what a total fucking bitch.

1)she was dressed like a fucking slut

2)she never smiled either

3) she got up huffily and ditched him, pacing outside until he went and placated her

4)she went and ripped our asses.

Yes. We met this awesome guy named KENT. KENT was his name, and he had these huge dorky glasses but he was totally nice. He was behind the genues booth. We met him and talked to him. He was really eager to talk, so he was a lot of fun. He took my backpack and went through all of my stuff. Well, that sounds bad. No, he asked if he could go through all of my stuff, and I said he could, so then he did. We talked with him all throughout the night, and i really liked him. I asked him if he had any free stuff to give us, and he gave us each a FREE genues button! That is how we aquired our first 2 free things!

I told him my name was Taylor and that Kathy's name was Harley and he bought it. WE wrote Taylor and Harley and signed up for all the mailing lists.

For MLF, everybody was just standing there. WHy were they just standing there? Some girls up in front who were just.. god, they were just teenyboppers. all the girls there were total teenyboppers. slutty gross blink 182 teenyboppers. They were just popping up every now and there like a bop the gopher game. kathy said they looked like they were having upside-down seizures. yeesh. So anyway kathy and I did some serious punk rock jumping! Like, big, high, mindless violent, crashing into other people jumps! But there was no moshing because instead of jumping back, the other people just kind of gave us these disgusted "what the hell are you doing" looks. It was like they'd never been to a concert before. I don't know what was wrong with them. the retarded striped kid who got jumped on joined us, though, so he was cool. Later I dubbed him the special kid and he responded to special kid after that, which was funny.

Then there was a break so we went to get water from the bartender lady who was nice, and then we went to talk to what's his name some more, uh, Kent. Then was Genue and i really didn't like them much, they reminded me too much of scream-o. They were all singing, and singing madly and with much vehemence, even though half of them didn't have microphones and weren't supposed to. I think they'd been snorting something. They had a trumpeter and a Saxophonist. Kathy and i sat that one out. But we did get FREE CDs from this one guy. i poked him in the back and held out my hands so he gave one to me. i opened up the CD and looked inside, and the guy who handed the CD to us was in it, so i asked him what he played and he said "no." I frowned, and he said, "i'm sorry, what did you say again? I said, "What do you do?" and said, "Oh, I play guitar and sing."

so now that makes 4 free things.

Then I bought an MLF button for a dollar. A DOLLAR! Expensive buttons! buttons at concerts are usually 25-75 cents but no more than that. usually about 50. jesus. But, yeah okay, they were also selling computer printed pictures of the band for 50 cents which is absolutely ridiculous and the girl said that the band would sign it if i showed them it, so i asked if i bought a button, would i get a free picture and the girls said that yes i would so i said okay and that makes

5 free things.

i eventually got 3 of the 4 members to sign the picture. the guitarists, the bassist but not the drummer cuz i really didn't know what he looked like so i couldn't find him.

we talked to kent some more. Kent pinched our cheeks, he shook my hand and his was clammy, he sprawled himself all over the table and he was neat.

then we watched Tragedy Andy, which is a really great band in concert. They really know how to put on an awesome show. IF you live in the San Francisco area, you have to go see them. They play em on the Live 105 local lounge sometimes. They are good.

Oh, MFS. not MLF. MFS. My Former Self. Sorry.

Anyway, Tragedy Andy talked a bit and then asked, " hey, who likes cindi lauper?" i screamed. So then they played that song, you know... " if you fall, i will catch you, i'll be waiting... time after time.." Ha, yeah. I knew the words! I sang along. They did a great job, they even did the high notes. Then they told everybody to dance and jump more so i did. The lead singer asked, "hey, so who likes andrew WK?" and GOD i swear that growd was like ZOMBIES or DEAD or something. But I screamed. Then they got this fat guy with funky bush hair and a unibrow to come out and go "when it's time to party we will always party hard" in a funky voice. And then they played andrew wk for a bit. Then they played their own songs, reminded us to go to their website and "buy our shit" and bassist and drummer switched places for a bit, which was funny. Then the bassist's cord got tangled up and the lead singer said, "Look at this guy! What a wuss. *in sissy voice* oh, no, my cord got tangeld, so now i have to unplug it and untangle it, wasting all this time!" the bassist was saying, fuck you but he was laughing. Later, the lead singer who was also the bassist brought the bass down and had a member of the audience pluck it. he broke his pick too, and it went flying up and away.

During this time Kent came to us regularly and motioned with his hands for us to jump. I tooke his hands and danced with him but he got scared and ran away. once he tried jumping himself and it was really pathetic, but it was a nice try. yay for kent.

So afterwards, we called my dad to pick us up while there was another band playing and then the lead singer of tragedy andy came up and tlkaed to kathy and me! WHOAHOWYAY! Ot was puh-retty kewl. I think it was because he realized our infallible coolness. Because we were the only ones dancing really hard and great during his performance (well i was the only one, kathy did a little but she had a bad cramp) so he realized our greatness and chose us to converse with. smart him. Our conversation! HUH!

Lead singer dude: hey, so did you guys like the show?

Spyke: Yesh! I like Cyndi Lauper?

LSD: you do? cool!

Harley: Yeah. you guys should have done some more Andrew WK though.

LSD: yeah, well, it was just an opening thing. do you guys want us to do some just for you?

H: ehhhh? *confused*

LSD: No?

H: *shaking her head no* Sure!!

S: heh heh heh....well there weren't a whole lot of people dancing! I was dancing.

LSD: Yeah. I was surprised that people even came! I suppose they didn't come for us. Last time we came here, a long time ago, no-one showed up. We don't play in the South Bay that much.

H: We're in the South Bay?

LSD: Well, you're the south bay to us.

H: So where do you play then?

LSD: We play around San Francsico.

H & S: oooh.

LSD: so did you guys get any of our buttons?

S: *shows button*

LSD: cool. and you? how about you?

H: *shakes head*

S: she didn't get any cuz she's broke. Here, I'll buy her one.

*rummages wildly for a few minutes for 50 cents.*

LSD: Um. That's okay. I'll just give you one! Hey! Give this girl a free button! Any one she chooses!

Button dispenser lady: Excuse me?

LSD: Any one she chooses.... please?

BDL: much better.

H: this one!

S: thank you very much!

H: thank you!

....he dissapears.

That makes 6 free things.

Gay guy came up, and asked for the 3rd time, "so you will you guys get on our mailing list?" and we say, for the 3rd time, "we're already on it." and so he says, "that's great!Supporting your local rock bands? cool. Definitely very cool. So I said, "Do you want us to sign it again?" and he goes, "Well..sure! Okay, cool! More work for us, but you know, it's more encouragement for the band! Everybody needs ego boosters!" So I wrote down that I was "Foo Man Choo" and the guy goes, "Fu Manchu? Oh man! I love them! They are so great! Oh man, you are so cool! In fact, take this for being so cool." and he hands me a free sticker. and I thank him. I kid you not, he really did say that. Just more proof on my unsurpassable coolness, babeh.

7 FREE THINGS! WHAT A LOOT! plus we got free flyers, but flyers don't count because they never cost money anyway.

so ,my dad picked us up and then i realized i forgot my camera so we drove back all the way, picked up my camera and got jack in the box cuz we were all hungary and stuff.

WHoot! that's all! it was a really nice night! I got Kent's email address. I made up some lame thing. I said, you know, I have a mailig list too. You need to write your email address on my hand for my mailing list, for foo man choo. And so he did. it's [email protected]. Totally predictable, but okay.

yesterday - tomorrow