current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

Apple shiner
2002-10-07 - 11:59 p.m.

Wow. I just checked out all my old crap, and I was a real loser. I don't know how my friends put up with me, or how I put up with myself in the "dark gothic phase." kathy is very, very right. Goth is not me. *shudder*

I wish I was computer inclined! Myabe then I'd even know how to stick something interesting up on this thing. You see 12 and 13 year old kids making these professional looking websites (and getting featured in the paper for chrissakes) and you just feel puh-retty insignificant.

I simply take satisfaction in knowing I draw okay, too.

I really don't want to go to Malaysia this winter.

I don't think I've ever really had a teacher who got us caught up with current events, and what's going on around us. Isn't that lousy? The public school system in California is just blasphemous. Preposterous. It just plain sucks ass.

In elementary school I had cool teachers. In middle school I had really great teachers. So how come in high school all the teachers are morons? I had a big fight with Mr. Holly the other day about the spelling of "peaceful." He insisted it was "full of peace... peacefull!" Oh, god. Where do they get these people, off the streets? Honestly. However, Ms. Kennett is pretty great. She's the only English teacher that actually taught me anything about English. Mrs. Spacek I loved, because she thought I was a child prodigy when it came to writing. Graduated with a 150%. But I didn't learn shit in her class. Mr. Sanfilippo helped a lot by making me write tons, but didn't actually teach me anything. And Ms. Kennett is actually helping us learn, what with using generalizations, and what is cliche and "trite," and how to put in quotes properly.

Mr. Dhillon was the best teacher. He actually treated us like adults. And he was smart. I remember, to get us all riled up about the tigers, he started insulting them, "Who cares about tigers anyway? Nobody's going to stick up for them and they're going to become extinct, so what's the point?" And in the end we got so pissed off at him, we collected something like $600 bucks for them. I remember him having this big debate with Dustin about how seatbelts were useless, and for year and years I thought Mr. Dhillon was a dumbass for thinking that, but now I look back on it and I think, "damn, he was just trying to teach us how to debate and how to prove a point... he didn't really think that."

He also showed us Fiddler on the Roof, Dances with Wolves, and The Gods Must Be Crazy. What kind of 5th grade teacher shows his kids those films? I'm just watching that Fiddler on the Roof movie now, in Kennett, 5 years later. Whoa.

See, why can't we have teachers like that anymore? My school life is so bad, the highlight of my day is math class.

God. Just dwell on the enormity of that for a second... yikes. Oh, but Hey, you know what happened today? During tennis practice, Greg and Neil came up and started grunting, so I whacked a serve completely out while doing a giant grunt, and Neil thought it was amusing, but all the other tennis girls think I'm an idiot for doing that every time they pass. FUck them. So then.... I actually got to see Greg's car in action. Greg takes Neil home, and I saw them get in, and I saw his truck roar up the hill, and Neil stuck his head out the passanger window and shrieked in our direction. I thought I was about to orgasm.

yesterday - tomorrow