current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

OK GO!
2002-11-21 - 11:31 p.m.

Oh dear lord jesus christ! To think I almost missed this opportunity! TO THINK! JESUS!!!!!! AAAAAGH!

AIEE! I went to the OK GO Channel 104.9 CHEAP SHOW and it KICKED SERIOUS ARSE! Oh dear LORD.

I showed up early and waited outside for an hour and a half or so (6:30 and it started at 8) and then we were let in. I was in the front row. More long waiting, and then the first band, one with a girl singer, emaneht, went on. They had attitude and pizzaz and you couldn't hear the singer's voice. She was good though.. that much you could tell from the occasional bursts of her voice when the guitar wasn't blaring. It was fairly boring, but OK... the highlight, of course, would be the cover.. they did a rockin' version of The Beastie Boys' "You Gotta Fight for your Right to Party!"

The next band was quite all right. The lead singer was a hottie! Oooh. He took off his sweater. His name was Tony. The band's name was Life with Jonas. I got several stickers, one of which I will present to Jonas. They were OK, though they sounded sort of NFG-ish. Again, the cover was the highlight... I almost died with happiness. They did one of my favorite songs in the world... and almost perfectly!!!! They practically did it better than the Pixie's did. Yes! Straight from the Fight Club, the Pixie's "Where is my Mind?" HOOYA! I love that song, man. The guy also had one of those neat squarish microphones which you pick up the thing and it looks more like you're singing into your hand... the old fashioned type ones.. yea!

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOH, and after MUCH anticipation and waiting, my FAVORITE BAND alongside Incubus POPPED OUT! Well.... it took a while. First there was a lot of setup (the drummer has a silver sparkly drumset) and then they played Babe, Pig In The City on the background on a screen for the entire performance.

The lead singer had a stool to sit on during the performance, though it looked clear that he didn't really like it, as he wiggled fiercely and bent over his guitar and tried to stand up and do as much as he could. BUt he couldn't really do much, because of his foot. It was broken from a pervious performance.. he jumped off a very tall speaker, Our Lady Peace style, and smooshed his foot. Awwwww. So he wound up with some space-age looking boot/cast around it. Neato.

There was also a keyboardist with a unibrow, the fairly broing drummer, a funky-looking nice-voiced guiatarist and this energetic squeaky voiced awesome awesome bassist man! Oo, I loved him. Or was he? Anyway he was bald and had triangular sideburn things, and the lead singer wore jans and a tight striped too shirt

Ooooooooh, MAN. I had NO IDEA the lead singer was so hot.

Somehow, they actually managed to sound BETTER live than on the CD! They were SO GREAT. I loved it. loved it loved it. A couple times either the lead singer or funky bald guy looked straight at me. The lead looked at me and gestured for me to go up, but I didn't get it, however the girl enxt to me did and clambered her fat ass up there only to act like some dumbass gangsta piece o shit, not even properly doing anything... I wish I'd gone up and moshed. That woulda been some rockin' shit.

They played all their songs on the CD (i was right! the bassist guy sings ci-ci-ci-cinnamon lips) And played a 4 song encore. They played 2 covers (Togos and Jesse's girl)and...... GAWD they rocked. The songs were so good. They rocked so hard! GOD!

The keyboardist, guitarist and bassist even danced sometimes, doing funky poses.

The lead expressed his anger at having to have a cane, and showed how it had an advantage.. brandished it like an old man and screamed, "SHUT UP! SHUT UP!" Then he got the bassist to do some coolio dance moves with it.

The lead also talked about how he liked being there and how he'd be in the courtyard after, signing things and that we could sign his cast in return. after the two girls went up on stage, he talked about some kid in Austin, TX who went up and not only break danced through the entire song, at the end he went up to the mike and said, "Now is the time of darkness!" Creeping everyone out and making him the most popular kid of the night.

Oh, HOORAY! HOORAY!

After the show I went and bought an OK GO t-shirt (medium, too big for me for it was all they had left) and I visited emaneht's stall and took a picture of their bassist who is an ok looker but not too fab. He smiled and asked me "Did you see us? Did you like us? Did we kick ass?" "Yes I did," I replied, "And you kicked SERIOUS ASS!" Looking quite happy he presented me with a free CD..."You answered all the quesitons correctly." Oh, I am the best at getting free shit.

Then I went over to the inside, right near the courtyard... and there he was! Sitting and talking to some girls! ANd they were getting things signed and they crowded around him for pictures. Then I went up and he said, "Have you signed up for the mailing list?" Giving him a double thumbs up, I said, "Yep!" "Good!" he said, and, "I like your t-shirt" for I was now wearing the OK GO baseball shirt. I waited a bit while he talked to other fans and then asked him if he'd sign my t-shirt. He did, and then I aske dhim if I could take a picture with him. He put his arm around me and said, "Sure!" I adjusted my position as he obviously could not move his, and had my cheek in his hair! Oh, I could smell him... and he did smell nice. And his hair was ever-so soft and damp.

Oh, how absoutely LOVELY.

I left feeling quite giddy indeed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I LOVE OK GO

yesterday - tomorrow