current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

War
2003-03-20 - 11:08 p.m.

I am scared.

Yes, our generation is supposed to be the apathetic one. The MTV generation. We've had everything handed to us and we still hate our lives. We're supposed to completely not give a shit.

But I'm scared. No--terrified. And it seems most of my friends are too. We're frightened, we're angry. I've done my part, I've been trying to keep up with the news lately and...Ok, I admit it, I like listening to MTV's news flashes. They tell me what people my age really want to know, and they cut straight to the chase without dancing around the subject. I dn't have to listen to old men argue, I just get the facts. And they relate it to things I want to know about, like music, SOAD, people my age doing protests.

I, for one, don't want to be one of the irreverent, uncaring teens that my generation is prejudiced to be. I'm doing my part...using The Commotion. I'm spreading the word. I duct-taped a peace sign on the back of my sweater. I'm doing interviews tomorrow on the war.

Bush is just being a fucking imperialist idiot. He's trying to take over the place just for the oil. he's corrupted from all that power, there's something twisted with that man! And there's something wrong with all the fucking hicks in this country for supporting that!

We're basically trying to colonize Iraq just like the French and British colonized India and Africa...but I thought we learned our mistakes from history from that! WE're going to try and americanize them, erase their culture. And they'll lose it; they will, they'll lose a lot of it. But when they finally overthrow us like they always have in history, we'll be screwed. What are we going to have now, a 51st state? Yeah, California, Ohio, Kentucky and KUWAIT! What fun! Kids, let's go vacationing there this summer!

GOod lord.

we don't need this violence. Why do we live in a world so full of hate and hurt? Why does everyone want to kill each other? WHy are people so greedy? I just don't understand why we can't all get along. We're all human beings...doesn't anybody see that? Doesn't anybody see that we're all the same species, that we're all just people and we have to share this stupid little rock in the middle of space, because it's ALL THAT WE HAVE? And now we're gonna blow the whole goddamn thing up an we'll have nothing. Not each other, not the world, not a home, nothing. I just don't know, I just don't know. I'm so scared and I'm so angry and I just can't understand why people have to be like this. I'm just a kid and I'm jsut trying to grow up in a world safely and make it to 21, and I can't even do that. My future is so uncertain.

There are no guarantees. No-one can comfort me. Nobody even knows what's going on! What's going to happen?

Sigh.......I'm just scared.

yesterday - tomorrow