current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

CAMPAIGNING!
2003-04-08 - 9:19 p.m.

I AM GOING TO RUN FOR OFFICE.

Here's what my campaigning has looked like so far:

foo manchu too (8:23:58 PM): if I run for office, will you vote for me?

imaginaryboi87 (8:24:11 PM): can't say

imaginaryboi87 (8:24:15 PM): I don't know who's running against you

foo manchu too (8:24:31 PM): Okay, let me say my piece.

foo manchu too (8:24:50 PM): For two years now, our class officers haven't done a thing. At the rate we're going, we may not even have a junior prom.

foo manchu too (8:25:09 PM): The juniors started their year off with 5000 dollars. we only have 1.

foo manchu too (8:25:29 PM): We never have any car washes, or bake sales, I can't even remember when we had an organized fundraiser event.

foo manchu too (8:25:44 PM): And I really think that it's about time we had somebody who would actually make an effort to make a difference.

foo manchu too (8:26:37 PM): And this time, I think people should vote based on ability instead of popularity.

foo manchu too (8:26:42 PM): So now, let me rephrase the question:

foo manchu too (8:26:58 PM): If I looked like the best candidate based on my intentions, and not my status, would you vote for me?

imaginaryboi87 (8:27:47 PM): yeah, I would

foo manchu too (8:27:59 PM): Okay, thanks. That's all I needed to know.

imaginaryboi87 (8:28:16 PM): no problem

imaginaryboi87 (8:28:19 PM): good luck if you do run

foo manchu too (8:28:24 PM): thanks a lot

So far, I've asked the first question: if it was an immediate yes, good. If not, Then the lecture. So far, all yesses.

broos18: Yes, I would vote for you

jaxmirkinrevenge: thanks!

broos18: I know what you mean

broos18: I've asked Patty for months now about this bowl-a-thon we're supposed to be having

broos18: it was supposed to be at the end of February

broos18: then she said end of March

broos18: now it's slated for May

jaxmirkinrevenge: it will never happen.

jaxmirkinrevenge: Exactly. We have NO fundraising events! Ever! Anywhere! And that just is not cool.

broos18: plus we have no class spirit

jaxmirkinrevenge: I've been trying all year to come up with things to help with that

jaxmirkinrevenge: I've actually come up with some ideas.

broos18: Just use all this as proof

broos18: It should be good enough to win an election

broos18: Looking at our class, though, I doubt it'll work

broos18: Our class as a whole is too damn stupid

jaxmirkinrevenge: exactly.. i want to be someone who actually has a campaign with reason instead of just a catchy phrase

jaxmirkinrevenge: I realize that I have one chance in a million. But I'll feel like a loser if I don't try, for that one chance.

jaxmirkinrevenge: Of course, I have a catchy phrase too ;-) and cool stickers and all, because hey, some people just vote based on that no matter how much you talk.

jaxmirkinrevenge: But I really want to make an impression on people. Even if it's just to pressure the officers to do better.

broos18: yes

jaxmirkinrevenge: thanks a lot for listening

broos18: good luck

jaxmirkinrevenge: thank you

Our class basically couldn't get any worse!

MrCodeDude87 (8:56:01 PM): You won't succeed

foo manchu too (8:56:27 PM): in running for office?

foo manchu too (8:56:55 PM): Because of popularity?

MrCodeDude87 (8:57:16 PM): no

MrCodeDude87 (8:57:18 PM): because you want to try

foo manchu too (8:57:27 PM): what?

foo manchu too (9:01:41 PM): ok help me out here... what do you mean?

MrCodeDude87 (9:02:08 PM): Nothing, I don't like the idea of me working

foo manchu too (9:02:27 PM): What do you mean, you working?

foo manchu too (9:02:48 PM): ohhhh... i won't succeed in getting morale up, you mean?

foo manchu too (9:02:55 PM): Because people like you are too apathetic?

MrCodeDude87 (9:03:28 PM): Bingo]

foo manchu too (9:04:02 PM): yeah, maybe a few of you are. For example, I could sit here and talk to you for an hour, but you wouldn't change your mind about that.

foo manchu too (9:04:14 PM): But I do think that I can appeal to more people to try and help out.

foo manchu too (9:05:15 PM): For example: everyone who's been elected has been damn popular so far. They ask others to help, but they also tend to be pretty hoighty-toighty and anti-social.

foo manchu too (9:06:01 PM): I think I have associations with more groups than they, like more-well-rounded kind of, to help balance out the people willing to help

And also another thing I have to rile up people, even the apathetic ones:

1) all the consequences

2) If you get a shit officer, it will have been YOUR fault. A lot of you are complaining about the state of things? (use Bush analogy here maybe) Well, it is THEIR fault. Because You guys CHose that person. You guys had a choice. you had an option. you didn't take advantage of that freedom you had to change something that AFFECTS YOU. This will be YOUR junior prom. This will be YOUR senior trip. This is all about YOU. Don't try to be too cool for this. (or don't complain about it later on, when you feel it.)

yesterday - tomorrow