current
archives
profile
links
rings
cast
reviews
quizzes
email
gbook
notes
host
image
design

COMICS!!!!
2004-02-07 - 11:22 a.m.

That settles it. This summer, I'm going to try to get a job at a local comic book shop.

I was thinking, "where should I work? Where would be the coolest place?" And what do I love most, and always want more of??? COMICS! If I worked at a comic book shop, i could just read comics all day long!!!! AHH! Oh my god. Heaven. Heaven.

Interviewee: So, tell me, why should I hire you?

Me: First of all and probably most importantly, I adore comics. I'm very familiar with them, and I've loved them and wanted to work in a comic book shop for as long as I can remember. When i was younger, I even used to go hang out in SLG's main office all the time. If I had a job here, I would come to work every day elated to be doing this. Secondly, I have some work experience. I used to be a waitress and ran the till at a japanese restaurant, and I can learn quickly. Lastly, I think I would be a good assett to this store. I am very friendly, and I could help 1) the hipsters and goths, because I have a lot of experience with alternative comics. I go to the APE every year. 2) I'll be able to make teen girls comfortable, seeing as I am one myself, and of course I know all my Clowes, Tomine, Private Beach and SIP to help them out. 3) for all the boy geeks that come in here--well, how often do you see a sexy 16-year old girl like me who actually subscribed to X-Men years before the movie came out working in a comic book shop? They'll definitely be return customers.

Only weakness I have... I know onthing of magic cards or any other type of cards. Still. I think I'd be an awesome comic worker....I am going to study my comics inside out and around until I know them all whip-bang straight. I'll even know the difference between X-Men and X-Men Unlimited. (after reading both all the time way back when (i can't believe I had a goddamn subscription!!!) I still don't know.) and I'll talk to and get to know the comic shop workers so they will become comfortable and familiar with me and they'll know how friendly and cool I am and will be eager to give me an application when I finally seek one.

AAAAAAAAAH I'm going to be sooo happy if I get to work in a comic shop. Oooohmyigod. I'll orgasm right there.

yesterday - tomorrow